Waiting on a Jet Plane

The Cincinnati Region of the American Red Cross has deployed 10 volunteers to assist with the damage caused by the tornadoes in the south.  Nine volunteers are in North Carolina and 1 volunteer from our region is located in Mississippi.  Thousands of people are in need and Red Cross workers are working around the clock to provide shelter, meals and supplies to help with cleanup efforts.  Our volunteers are sharing their first-hand experiences; what they are seeing and how they are assisting.

Submitted by Simone Broughton, Disaster Volunteer

  • Sturdy shoes? Check.
  • Red Cross badge, t-shirts, paperwork? Check.
  • Feeling proud and excited about being a Red Cross disaster relief volunteer? DEFINATELY!

As I sit here waiting for my flight I take my first moment to reflect on my decision to put my Cincinnati life on hold for a few weeks and help those whose own worlds were swept away in the April 2011 tornados. Although I’ve never done this before – this relief operation is my first – it really wasn’t a hard decision to make. For years I’d seen similar stories on the news: earthquakes, fires, tornados – homes burnt up, livelihoods washed away, hopes and dreams put to the test. And so I got myself prepared. I got myself trained. I became a Red Cross Disaster Volunteer. And then…. I waited. I waited until I was needed. And then the day came when I got the phone call “Can you come help?”.

Within 24 hours of that phone call, I am my way to Raleigh, North Carolina. I was provided with everything I needed – a plane ticket, information on what to expect, etc. I am going to be helping Staff Services with processing volunteers and getting them exactly where they need to be and where they can be most helpful. I feel ready and excited (and yes, I’ll be honest – a little bit nervous too!).
_________________________________________________________

To donate to this and other disasters just text REDCROSS to 90999 for a $10 donation, visit our website or call 1-800-REDCROSS.  Your donation will help provide clean-up kits, meals, shelter and so much more to disaster victims.

Thank you for providing hope!

Leave a Reply

