I am part of the family too!

dog

I just overheard my family say they’re going to include me in their emergency plan!! I’m so excited I can’t stop wagging my tail! I’m not sure what that is exactly, but it sounds like a vacation to somewhere. There’s nothing better than long car rides with the window down, new trees to mark and new adventures with my family. I just love going places, but I always want my family to keep my safety in mind, just like they do theirs!

I know I’m not welcome everywhere, so I hope my family stays in places that I can too. I just hate being left in the car or outside by myself. All families traveling with a pet should call ahead and see what hotels allow dogs or what places around the area care for animals.

If you do decide to also travel with your pet, make sure your pets are up to date on their vaccinations! I wouldn’t want to get someone sick or get sick myself. SQUIRREL!!…Sorry. Many pet shelters require proof of current vaccinations to reduce the spread of disease.

If you’re taking your pet somewhere hot, watch for signs of heat stroke! Humans aren’t the only ones who can get dehydrated and over heated. The bulldog next door got it once…poor guy. Just make sure you know how to look for signs of heat stroke in your dog and know how to treat it if it happens.

Now my family’s talking about packing me a portable emergency kit. I hope they pack my leash, food/water, medications, a first aid kit and toys of course! My little green ball is my favorite to play with! Fetch is my favorite game.

Well this sounds like it’s going to be a fun trip whenever it happens!! Remember that safety for your furry member is just as important as safety for your other family members! Now I wonder where I put that green ball…

For more info on how to effectively include your pets in your family’s emergency plan visit http://www.redcross.org/prepare/disaster/pet-safety

Leave a Reply

