Employee Q&A: Heather True

Q: A little background: How long have you been with the Red Cross; What is your job now and what other jobs have you had over the years, if any?
A: I have been with the Red Cross 28 years. My first position was the billing clerk for the finance department. I was promoted to accounting clerk and then accounting coordinator. After having my third child in 1991, I went part time in the health and safety department as a health educator instructor and an instructor trainer. In 1996, I accepted a second part-time position within finance as the accounting data entry clerk, doing dual roles for 11 years. I came back full time in 2007 working in finance as health and safety services administrative assistant. In June 2011, National took over the health and safety departments across the country, and I was moved into a temporary call center as an AP and LTP support representative. In June 2012, I accepted my current position as sales administrative coordinator for PHSS.

Q: I’m sure a lot has changed over the years. What has been the one of biggest changes you’ve seen at here at the Red Cross?
A: The biggest change is when National took over to make “One Red Cross.”

Q: What made you to want to work for the Red Cross in the first place?
A: I wanted to be involved in a nonprofit organization that gives back to the community. I believe in the mission of the American Red Cross and have truly been blessed working with such caring, wonderful people and organization.

Q: A little about you: What is your favorite season?
A: I love them all. If I have to pick a favorite, I have two: spring and then fall.

Q: What’s your take on the Starbucks cup?
A: It’s not bad. The old one was fine too.

Q: Where was your last vacation?
A: Austin, Texas, for my daughter’s wedding. (smile)

Q: What do you do for fun?
A: I love spending time with my family and being outside, gardening, landscaping, hiking, walking the dog. I also love getting together with friends or playing “Words with Friends.” Books are always good in the winter time.

Q: What’s the most exhilarating thing you’ve ever done?
A: Ziplining comes to mind.

Q: What is one word or short phrase you would use to describe the Red Cross?
A: A wonderful humanitarian organization.

Q: What’s your most memorable Red Cross moment?
A: There have been so many. To mention a few, meeting and working with so many wonderful, caring people, and making so many great friends that will last a lifetime. Working in the finance department, I saw how our community comes together in times of international and local disasters, from all the fantastic volunteers who help to the generosity of the community through their donations. As a health educator, it was very rewarding knowing that you are helping people save lives and working with so many lovely volunteers.

Leave a Reply

