Employee Q&A: Debbie Smith

Q10410363_10152941687019086_6675860777413969870_n: A little background: How long have you been with the Red Cross; what is your job now and what other jobs have you had over the years?
A: My current position with the Red Cross is Major Gift Officer, I was previously the Chapter Executive for the Ohio River Valley territory which is Scioto, Pike, Jackson, Lawrence, Adams and Brown Counties.

Q: What drew you to want to work for the Red Cross in the first place?
A: I have a passion for helping others and giving back to our communities, I had previously served on the Board for Habitat for Humanity and our local School board. I also currently serve on PALS- Portsmouth Area Ladies Society, Portsmouth Educational Forum and the Pike County Community Fund.

Q: Your big event is Dancing With Our Stars. So, can you dance? Sing? Whistle? Any talent at all?
A: I leave the talent to our wonderful Dancing With Our Stars performers. The only talent I would have is playing the piano. You don’t want to hear me sing or see me dance.

Q: A little about you personally: Ham or turkey for Christmas?
A: Honey Ham for Christmas of course.

Q: Do you shop on Black Friday? Or Thanksgiving night? Are you out at 4:00 a.m. when the stores open their doors?
A: I shop both, but 4:00 a.m.is a little too early for me. We go shopping after Thanksgiving dinner is done around 5:00 p.m., and again the next day.

Q: What’s your favorite Christmas song?
A: Carol of the Bells

Q: What do you do for fun?
A: I vacation and travel with my family

Q: Where was your last vacation?
A: Gatlinburg, Tenn. We went to Gatlinburg this past summer and stayed in a chalet on the mountain. We like to do the Mountain Coaster, hike and ride the tram up the mountain. It is beautiful in the mountains.

Q: What’s the most exhilarating thing you’ve ever done?
A: Scuba diving. I began scuba diving when I was in college at Shawnee State University. I did my open water certification in Key West, Fla. I’ve dived in the Florida Keys and the Bahamas. I have done deep dives, night dives and coral reefs. Never done a wreck dive, but I would love to.

Q: What’s your most memorable Red Cross moment?
A: When someone shares how the Red Cross made a difference by helping them. I have had past disaster clients and donors share wonderful stories of how we have made a difference in their lives or their family’s life. Just last week, one of my donors shared how the Red Cross helped her family after losing everything, and how we were there while the fire department was there. It makes me proud to be part of this great team.

Leave a Reply

